XenCenter

Delete Virtual Disks

Note:

XenCenter 2023.x.x is currently in preview and is not supported for production use. Note that any future references to production support apply only when XenCenter 2023.x.x and XenServer 8 go from preview status to general availability.

You can use XenCenter 2023.x.x to manage your XenServer 8 and Citrix Hypervisor 8.2 CU1 non-production environments. However, to manage your Citrix Hypervisor 8.2 CU1 production environment, use XenCenter 8.2.7. For more information, see the XenCenter 8.2.7 documentation.

You can install XenCenter 8.2.7 and XenCenter 2023.x.x on the same system. Installing XenCenter 2023.x.x does not overwrite your XenCenter 8.2.7 installation.

You can delete a virtual disk without shutting down the VM first if the following conditions are met:

  • The VM is not suspended.
  • The VM must have XenServer VM Tools installed.
  • The virtual disk is not a system disk.
  • The virtual disk must be deactivated first. The term deactivate is equivalent to unplug, which is the term that is used for this operation in the product documentation and in the CLI.

If any of these conditions are not satisfied, shut the VM down before you can delete the virtual disk.

Important:

Deleting a virtual disk permanently deletes the disk, destroying any data stored on it.

To delete the virtual disk:

  1. On the VM’s Storage tab, select the virtual disk in the list and select Deactivate and then Delete.
  2. Click OK to confirm the deletion.
Delete Virtual Disks

In this article